Snack of the Day- May Edition

When I was in grade 7, I had this fantastic teacher named Mrs. Malandrino (First name Lynne, for those of you who had other Malandrinos in your life). She was a really cool teacher that I had known since grade 3 who wore jumpsuits to school and had a laid back approach that every kid could relate to. So much so that she would let me eat during class and once offered me a pasta lunch. She was the first and last teacher that ever gave me that privilege.  I am pretty certain that this was done for one of two reasons:

1. She recognized the look in my eye that said don’t get between me and my snack when I am hungry. (By the way, that look still exists)

2. I had “foodie” plastered on my forehead and she was intrigued by the snacks I brought to class.

It all started when I discovered these fantastic pretzels that I found in my local grocery store. They were the first flavoured pretzels to be introduced in the market and came in flavours like cheddar cheese, spicy barbeque, and white and milk chocolate flavours (all very passe at this point, I know). The one unsaid condition with snacking in class was to share. Not with my classmates mind you, but with Mrs. Malandrino. I was more than happy to oblige 🙂

The pretzels soon disappeared off the shelves, and left me with no other choice but to move on. Miss Vicki’s then introduced their epic Jalapeno flavoured kettle chips which kept me excited for a while. And then there was a lull…until yesterday.

I was at that same local grocery store  and was expecting only to pick up a baguette. A display of large red bags caught my attention. They screamed, “You want me, I know you want me ;)”.

popcorn

With a plea like that how could I say no. Hailing from Popcorn, Indiana (a real town, and also the company’s name) this red bag was filled with the most sensational gourmet kettlecorn popcorn. “Crispy and Crunchy. Sweet and Salty”, the label took the words right out of my mouth.  This popcorn was perfectly balanced, and delivers on the company’s word. Each handful is always different, unleashing a curiosity that had me dipping my hand into the bag for more.

The shelves were also stocked with Movie Theatre Style popcorn, but were missing the company’s Aged White Cheddar Kettlecorn, Smoked Cheddar Cheese Kettlecorn, and Sea Salt Popcorn varieties. At $3.99 for a 297 gram bag, the price is a little steep for typical snackers, but well worth it. At this rate, it’s will only be a matter of time until the extremely pricey Kernels is put out of business.

Leave a Reply

