Mystery Boxes

I happened to be baking one day, which is quite out of the ordinary for me, because I am a cook through and through and usually leave the creation of baked goods to those with enough patience for the chemistry of it all.

Anyhow, when I’m in the kitchen I often tend to create an excess of whatever I’m making. So one day I devised a way of giving away a slew of cupcakes that I baked. I grabbed a styrofoam box and a sharpie. In black ink I wrote on the box “Mystery Box: Dear (Friend whose name will remain anonymous). I hope you enjoy these :) Let me know what you think. (Signed nobody)”. I drove over to the friend’s house, dropped the box off on their porch, and waited to see how this charade would play out.

6093_784589594282_28109432_49934210_955459_n

Messages on Twitter indicated that the person thought another friend had delivered the special treat. I felt slighted, but whatever, that’s what I got for not putting my name on the box. Then I discovered that the friend’s mother was on the brink of throwing the entire box out in fear that someone was out to poison her kid. I found that quite funny.

Close to midnight I get a text message asking  if it was me. “If what was me?” I responded. I know, I’m horrible aren’t I?  So I play out this mind game for another 45 minutes before I give in. This time my friend was seriously threatening to throw out my double chocolate cupcakes, and I just wasn’t having it anymore. To my relief at least 2 cupcakes were consumed that evening.

6093_784589778912_28109432_49934212_3053986_n

It was one of the most interesting social experiments that I’ve conducted, and I got such a good laugh out of it that I did it again, and again, and again. Each box had a funny story attached to it, with the friend not knowing what to do with it, or accessories to the stories including parents who refused to open the door when I knocked.

The Mystery Box phenomenon is one that I am going to continue, just for the simple joy of seeing people get excited over a surprise delivery. As a kid I’ve always dreamt of singing telegrams at my door, bouquets of flowers that show up for no reason, and balloons that are so abundant that they have a hard time getting through the door. Who wouldn’t like to be able to make their friend’s eyes light up over a special treat made specifically for them?

Do you know someone deserving of a Mystery Box?

3 Responses

  1. This is a really cute idea!!

  2. LOVE THE MYSTERY BOX!

    Sorry I thought it was someone else :). You rock!

  3. Dude! Where’s mine!? haha kidding :P.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

